The Wednesday Word {Every other Week Edition}

I figure you guys have gotten the hint about diction so I am going to slow down the posts to every other week so I don’t bore you! 

I am also going to start posting parts of my novels to fill the void of longing and pining you have for my words when I am away! 

Without further ado…

The Wednesday Word for this week!

na·dir

noun \ˈnā-ˌdir, ˈnā-dər\

1: the point of the celestial sphere that is directly opposite the zenith and vertically downward from the observer

2: the lowest point

For my purposes here and for yours as well, unless you are a celestial observer, I am using the second definition – The lowest point.

Usage examples:

We reached a nadir when we resorted to throwing jabs at one another.

The man’s luck reached a nadir when he discovered he not only lost his wallet, but his phone and his favorite pen all in one day.

 

http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/nadir

Leave a Reply

