{Monday Meditations} The Pitch aka What to Say?!

I’ve been working on a pitch for a session at the Maryland Writers’ Association’s Conference this coming Saturday. Well, I think I have. I’ve written, rewritten and freestyled several to be honest and none have been to my liking. That’s not quite true. I’ve like all of them but none of them truly capture the essence of what my book, The Wayward Wife, is conveying to my audience.

Who’s my audience? Good question. My audience is any woman who has cheated or thought about cheating on her husband or boyfriend and any man who thinks he’s been cheated on. I could even widen that to include the men who pursue married or involved women. I believe all of these people will enjoy the book, because they’re all in it.

The Wayward Wife is a tale told from the main perspective of a woman who cheats on her husband because she’s frustrated in their relationship and she’s pursued by an old flame. Like the picture says, when the arguments seem to disappear, someone is hiding something. Take the hint men out there… Especially if you haven’t changed. It also gives insight to the husband and the other man’s perspective of the events with alternating chapters.

My issue is that the book contains biblical and clinical analyses of the relationship and main character and I don’t know for sure how to shop it because of that. It’s sexy as all get out too! Yes, Christians have sex, people. Usually with their husbands or significant others exclusively, but in this case… LMBO she’s not following the rules, hence the title!

I think it’s a little too sexy to be marketed as Christian Fiction, so I’m going to stick with Women’s Fiction, for now. This still leaves the question of what to say to Ms. Sinsheimer on Satuday! (What an alliteration!) #writershumor

I know she likes for the pitch to unfold conversationally. This gives me hope. I mean, I can talk about my main character and her multi-layered issues all day. I just want to make sure the basic plot and storyline are clear when I do.

Happy writing!
Faye

20140421-085552.jpg

Leave a Reply

