Copyrights and Barcodes {It’s a Business Man, but Am I?}

Hey writers!

I am filling out copyright information and investigating the ISBN and barcode shakedown. And, I do mean shake down!

I mean, it’s $125 for one ISBN and $295 for 10! C’mon man. That’s unfair in terms of a self-publisher who only has need for 3-5 ISBNs. Then you find out that the barcodes are $25 a piece. Really? They don’t come with the daggone barcode? Of course you have to buy them separately. Why would they give them to you with the astronomically priced ISBNs when they know you have to buy them in order to be in the Barnes & Noble?

It all had me briefly wondering if it would be easier to go with someone half-cocked publishing company who purchases them by the thousands for a penny a piece and would bundle it all up for me and tie it with a pretty pink bow.

I like pink.

I like bows.

I like uncomplicated and inexpensive too.

What do you like?

How are you getting your work out there? Are you going with the CreateSpace option and opting in for them to do all of this heavy lifting for you? Smashwords style? (Been there, done that…) What about self-publishing and handing the hard labor (aka the business side of it all) to small imprint?

I would really like to know what you are doing or thinking of doing or even just what would you like?

Write more,
The Write Way Faye

One thought on “Copyrights and Barcodes {It’s a Business Man, but Am I?}

  1. Pingback: The Write Way Publishing House {I’m a Business, Man} | thewritewayfaye

Leave a Reply

